PARENTAL PRIDE

They say I have my mother’s
Eyes. I see it now
When words drop from my mouth
And I look around for her.

They say I am as stubborn as
My father. I see it now
When I ask to be convinced
And I look around for him.

I take what people say back
To my parent with puppy eyes
Waiting for a pat on the head.

They say child we did not
Give you life to be a copy of us.
We gave you life to be the best
Version of a unique creation.
When you are that, is when
We are proud parents.

©kayologun

Leave a Reply

