Sadiku – The Lion and the Jewel

If you have read Lion and the jewel by Wole Soyinka – the Nobel laureate from Nigeria, you would be familiar with SADIKU. This little poem is to her tribute. I hope Prof. Soyinka wouldn’t mind my reducing this great character to a verse.

 

 

 

 

 

I am the head of the lion’s wife,

I am a collector of purity,

I collect brides with my wooing tongue.

I who did it for the great Okiki,

I killed him with my strength

I thought I had done it for him too

but he had used me as bait.

The great lion gave me

a false knowledge

with this I feed Sidi’s pride

that which led her

to the cave.

The great lion’s cave.

 

One thought on “Sadiku – The Lion and the Jewel

  1. Pingback: Traversing expectations that clip wings of freedom and identity | antioppressivepropaganda

Leave a Reply

