Condoms – Sexual Health Issues

Condoms

Condoms

Durex is expensive but it is free in the sexual health hospitals. It is so free that an appointment to have HIV test done would certainly get you the gift of condoms in different colours and flavours.

I went to do a routine sexual health check done because it was free and I had nothing better to do. I was given a self swap kit with condoms, I had my blood taken but I couldn’t get a smear test done. Even when the doctor could not do this smear test because of the risk of breaking my hymen, he still offered me condoms, as if he was expecting me to go back on my decision to abstain from sex until I get that round object on my ring finger and change my name to Mrs. Somebody.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………

“Any unprotected sex?” The lady asked.

“Yes,” I answered looking into her eyes “I, We, My boyfriend and I are trying for a baby,” I smiled.

“Oh,” she looked down at the form with my details. It felt like she wanted to avoid any eye contact with me.

” Would you like some condoms today Miss?” She asked as if she didn’t hear my answer.

“No, thanks, I won’t need any”

“Are you sure,” she looked up and I could see in her eyes that she did not believe me. She thought I was trying to explain my reckless unprotected sex with the “I am trying for a baby excuse.” Of course, she could not say that to my face, because she is professionally obligated to voice no bias or judgement.

“I am sure”

“How many sexual partners have you had in the past 6 month?” She asked with a smirk, one bushy eyebrow raised, her white teeth exposed between a slightly parted thin stiff lips.

You know what, I will take the f**king condoms, I said.

 

3 thoughts on “Condoms – Sexual Health Issues

  1. Pingback: Why condoms are a girl’s best friend | Sir David Ochieng' the Great

Leave a Reply

