ALAS, IT WAS A DREAM / THE FIRST OF MANY.

It stood like a snowman at my door but brighter. It looked like a ghost; Fiona said they look like snowmen without orange nose and black buttons. It walked towards me and I could feel the hair on the back of my neck stand. My head felt like I was carrying a double duplex. I tried to scream but my mouth could not form words. I was sure I was dying. I did not want to die, at least not before I could taste the chocolate cake mother kept in the fridge last night.

It moved to the table. I could feel goose bumps on my body. My toes were frozen.  I thought to myself, “I should have worn my green sock; silly me.” I could see its eyes now; brown like latte. They seemed to be talking. I tried to say something, to ask what it wanted from me but I could not. My tongue was glued to the roof of my mouth.

Then I heard the whisper, it came with the cold breeze through the window

“Quick, we’ve got to go”

It heard the whisper too, for it looked at the open window for a second and back at me. It stretched it hand towards me. I tried to scream but I still could not open my mouth or move any part of my body.  I heard the whisper again

“Let’s go Janelle, Now!

It drew back and floated through the window.  With it went the cold and the heavy metal on my chest. I screamed and opened my eyes. Alas, it was a dream! A dream; the window was still open and the chair was rocking. This was the first of many more to come.

4 thoughts on “ALAS, IT WAS A DREAM / THE FIRST OF MANY.

  1. Spooky. You’ve a way with words and through your description I felt like I was sitting next to the narrator as she experienced this unnerving moment. Do you write horror stores?

Leave a Reply

