A Shame to the Stereotype African Husband

This Long poem is in response to Bada Yusuf Amoo’s I NEED AN AFRICAN WIFE.

I need a husband

A man that would remember,

I was taken from his ribs and not his feet.

A man proud to have me by his side

and not leave me struggling to catch up behind.

A man that understand,  I am human

with feeling, opinion and ideas.

A man, man enough to put my needs before his.

A man that believes we work together

to make our lives a paradise on earth.

A man who respects me as a partner and not a slave.

A man that knows we complete and complement each other.

 

I need a husband

A man, strong enough to share

the responsibilities of daily living.

A man that wants us to spend every time

we have together before the hands

of daily life drags us apart.

A man that understand pregnancy

is not a disease or ailment.

A man that understands me enough

to know how I deal with his emotions.

A man that understands that child discipline is a joint effort.

A man that is humble enough to accept when I give him expert opinion.

 

Oh I need a husband,

who sees when his mother is bang out of order.

A man that would cook for me

without feeling less of a man

A man that would love me enough

to make me think of home at work.

 

Yes I need a husband

Who would treat me like a first lady

even when I don’t feel like one.

A man that sees me as a friend and companion

and not a warm body to satisfy the urge in his groin

or a maid to cook his food and do his laundry.

 

Oh God, I need a husband

One who would call my untidy hair “beautiful”

And my salty rice,” delicious”.

A man that would not see me as an object in his possession

but as a human; born like him.

A man, man enough to love me

like Christ loves the church

A man loving enough

to deserve my submission.

What I need is an African husband,

A man with a combination of character

that would shame the stereotype African husband.

13 thoughts on “A Shame to the Stereotype African Husband

  1. Absolutely fantastic,pls send this to my inbox will you?thank you.more men should read and digest this.i lovvvvvvveeeee.

    • Yes it was writtten that way. If you look at it, each line answers every line in “I need an Africa Wife” Glad you think it’s nice though. Thanks

  2. I wanna say thanks for posting this fantastic information. Keep up this good work. I’ll subscribe to your website also. thanks!

Leave a Reply

