THE FIRST OF MANY.

THE FIRST OF MANY.

I felt the cold first and then I saw it standing like a snowman at my door, brighter than a snowman. It looked like a ghost; Fiona said they look like snowmen without orange nose and black buttons. It walked towards me; I could feel the hair on the back of my neck stand. My head felt heavy. I tried to scream but my mouth couldn’t form any sound. I was sure I was dying. I didn’t want to die, at least not before I could taste the chocolate cake mother kept in the fridge last night.

It moved to the table. The cold started to get worse. I couldn’t feel my toes.  I mentally blamed my numb toes on my refusal to wear my green socks. I could see its eyes now: they were brown. They seemed to be talking. I tried to say something, to ask what it wanted from me but I couldn’t. My tongue glued my mouth.

Then I heard a whisper, it came with the cold breeze through the window…

“Quick, we’ve got to go”

It heard the whisper too, for it looked at the open window for a second, then back at me. It stretched it hand towards my face. I tried to scream but I still couldn’t open my mouth or move any part of my body.

The whisper again

“Let’s go Janelle”

It drew back,

“Now!”

It floated through the window knocking off my castle. With it went the cold and the heavy metal on my chest. I screamed and opened my eyes. Alas, it was a dream!

A dream but the window was still open and my castle lay scattered beside my bed. This was the first of many more to come.

Leave a Reply

