SCALE.

 

Today, I checked my weight.

I’ve lost 2 STONES since I last checked;

a thing of concern and fear to me,

a thing of joy to the others in Hollywood.

 

I remembered my people’s saying:

“He who has head, has no cap

He who has cap, has no head”

I have neither head nor cap.

 

For those blessed with a full plate,

take to the scale in desperation,

rejoicing at a STONE lost.

While I, cursed with an empty plate,

take to the scale in desperation,

fearing for STONES lost.

 

For their scale shows battles won,

mine confirms battles lost.

Their scale reflects money well spent,

mine echoes money not seen.

 

For my rusty scale

shows the statistics

of a disappearing body

My shabby mirror reflects

a ghost of what used to be.

 

Standing the muddy floor of my hut

under the leaking roof,

beside the straw bed,

with an empty stomach.

I am indeed,

a shadow of a being

and I am the richest of them all

them that live from hand to mouth.

Leave a Reply

