MY MEMORIES OF HIM

 

As a child

I remember looking up to him

I remember my parent’s joy at his presence.

I remember peeping through the kitchen door

to see his face without being seen.

I remember

the sound of his hearty laugh,

the brightness of his eyes,

the firmness of his hand when he carried me.

 

As a grown woman

I remember seeing him

his bright eyes were still there,

but now they were deep

with wisdom of years ago.

His kind words were still there,

but now I could hear them

in his gestures.

I could feel is hearty laugh

in his silence.

 

A Few days ago,

I heard he was gone

and the world stood still for a moment.

I wish I had seen him more…

I wish I had spoken to him more…

I wish I had laughed with him more…

but he’s gone to rest now

and I know he knew

he’ll live on in my heart.

Dedicated to my dearest Uncle – Mr Adeniran.

2 thoughts on “MY MEMORIES OF HIM

Leave a Reply

